odr

Office of Disability Rights
 

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Olmstead Community Integration Plan - DC One Community for All

 

What Is Olmstead?

In 1990, the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) was signed into law, prohibiting state and local governments from discriminating against people with disabilities by excluding them from participating in, or receiving benefits from, government services, programs, or activities. The ADA requires state and local governments to administer services, programs, and activities in the most integrated setting appropriate to the needs of qualified individuals with disabilities. This is often called the ADA’s “Integration mandate.”

The first case to challenge this integration mandate was, Olmstead v. L.C., in which the Supreme Court ruled that people with disabilities have the right to live and receive care in the community rather than in an institutional setting. In this 1999 decision, the Supreme Court also indicated that states could have a “comprehensive, effective working plan” to demonstrate compliance with the ADA’s integration mandate. These plans are often referred to as “Olmstead plans.”

Under Olmstead, states must demonstrate that they are able to provide services to people with disabilities in integrated settings, within certain limits:

  • the person must want community-based services;
  • the person’s treatment team must consider community-based services appropriate;
  • and it must be reasonable to accommodate the community-based services, taking into account state resources and the needs of others with disabilities.

Olmstead Planning in the District of Columbia

The Olmstead Working Group was developed with the advice and recommendations of ODR and other agencies serving people with disabilities. The Group is comprised of representatives from District agencies as well as community stakeholders, including people with disabilities and advocates for people with disabilities. Together, the Working Group advises District Government agencies on what the Plan should look like and what the priorities should be.

The 2021-2024 Olmstead Plan focuses on the priorities of housing, healthcare, and employment

The Plan serves three purposes:

  • It tracks the number of District residents who transition to the community from long term care utilizing DC Government supports and services.
  • It highlights District government programs and policies that assist people with transitioning from long-term care into the community.
  • It serves as a guide for a person in transition to let them know about services available to them under these three priorities.

Please send an email to [email protected] or call ODR at 202-724-5055 for any questions.

 

Printable Version of Plans, Metrics, and Other Related Materials:

2021 Agency Quarterly Reports and Dashboard: https://odr.dc.gov/page/2021-agency-quarterly-reports

Comments to the 2021-2024 Olmstead Plan: https://odr.dc.gov/page/2021-Olmstead-Plan-Constituent-Comments

Olmstead Community Town Hall, May 26, 2021: https://odr.dc.gov/page/olmstead-townhall-materials-may-26-2021

January 2021 Olmstead Plan Update: Olmstead Plan January 2021 Update.

2020 Agency Quarterly Reports: https://odr.dc.gov/page/2020-olmstead-agency-reports

2020 Olmstead Conference--September 21-23, 2020: https://odr.dc.gov/page/olmstead-conference-2020

2020 Olmstead Community Townhall Materials--July 21, 2020: https://odr.dc.gov/page/2020-olmstead-community-townhall-july-21-2020

2020 Olmstead Working Group Minutes: https://odr.dc.gov/page/2020-olmstead-working-group-meeting-minutes-and-documents

2020 Olmstead Community Townhall Materials--April 28, 2020: https://odr.dc.gov/page/olmstead-community-townhall-meeting-materials-april-28-2020 

2020 Agency Reports and Summaries: https://odr.dc.gov/page/2020-olmstead-agency-reports

2019 Agency Quarterly Reports: https://odr.dc.gov/page/2019-olmstead-agency-quarterly-reports

2018 Agency Quarterly Reports and Plan Amendments: https://odr.dc.gov/page/2018-olmstead-quarterly-reports-and-plan-amendments

2017 Agency Quarterly Reports: http://odr.dc.gov/page/2017-olmstead-agency-quarterly-reports

2016 Olmstead Plan and Appendices:http://odr.dc.gov/page/016-olmstead-plan-and-appendices 

2016 Olmstead Working Group Meeting Minutes: http://odr.dc.gov/page/dc-olmstead-working-group-meeting-minutes

2016 Agency Quarterly Reports: http://odr.dc.gov/page/2016-agency-quarterly-reports

2015 Calendar Year Annual Summary: http://odr.dc.gov/page/dc-one-community-all-2015-annual-summary 

2015 Calendar Year Agency Olmstead Goals: http://odr.dc.gov/page/2015-calendar-year-agency-olmstead-goals

2015 Olmstead Plan: http://odr.dc.gov/release/dc-one-community-all-fy-2015-community-integration-plan

2015 Olmstead Plan Addendum: http://odr.dc.gov/page/2015-olmstead-community-integration-plan-and-addendum

2015 Agency Quarterly Reports: http://odr.dc.gov/page/olmstead-community-integration-quarterly-reports

2014 Agency Goal Summary: http://odr.dc.gov/release/odr-releases-dc-one-community-all-fy-14-agency-goal-summary

2013 Fiscal Year Olmstead Plan : http://odr.dc.gov/release/dc-office-disability-rights-releases-dc-one-community-all-fy-2013-olmstead-community